What Is Freemasonry

Freemasonry is the oldest and largest fraternal organization in the world. Its members share a common goal of helping each other become better men. Its body of knowledge and system of ethics is based on the belief that each man has a responsibility to improve himself while being devoted to his family, faith, country, and fraternity.

Its roots go back centuries and its members are diverse: high profile leaders, physicians, construction workers, farmers…and maybe you.

We’re united by three ancient and fundamental principles—brotherly love, charity and truth—that are made relevant to the 21st century through the personal development, good works and social connections available to our members in the 550+ lodges across Ontario.

Freemasonry offers much to its members—the opportunity to grow, the chance to make a difference and the means to build a better world for our children. It offers the chance to socialize and work with men who have the same values and ideals.

We strengthen and improve our character by learning and practicing basic virtues of fraternal love, charity, and truth. Our principles extend far beyond our interactions with each other, and we strive to apply them to our daily lives.

And there’s so much more.

Please Contact Us  and we will do our best to answer any related questions you may have.

About the Georgian South District: The Georgian South District is one of 41 (as of July, 2019) Masonic districts that owe their allegiance to the Grand Lodge A.F. & A.M. of Canada in the Province of Ontario. There are ten (10) Freemason Lodges that operate within the Georgian South District that meet in seven (7) locations; Tottenham, Beeton, Alliston, Cookstown, Stroud, Barrie and Creemore.  Each lodge operates under a charter or warrant of constitution from the Grand Lodge.

The District Deputy Grand Master is a bridge between Grand Lodge and the lodges of the district.  He represents Grand Lodge to the lodges and the lodges to Grand Lodge.  He is responsible for implementing the directives and policies of Grand Lodge.  At the same time he must be aware of the customs and traditions of his own district.  The DDGM is elected by the brethren of the district annually at the Grand Lodge communications that take place in Toronto each July.


Past District Deputy Grand Masters and District Secretary/Treasurers

The following is a list of past District Deputy Grand Masters and District Secretary/Treasurers for Georgian South District

District Deputy Grand MastersTermDistrict Secretary / Treasurers
R.W. Bro. Charles B. Coursey1990-91V.W. Bro. C. Anthony Pester
R.W. Bro. Alvin S. Smith1991-92V.W. Bro. Walter Browning
R.W. Bro. Michael E. Fulmer1992-93V.W. Bro. Shane G. Mayes
R.W. Bro. James E. Anderson1993-94V.W. Bro. William Haza
R.W. Bro. L. Harvey Street1994-95V.W. Bro. Greg Murphy
R.W. Bro. J. Keith Robinson1995-96V.W. Bro. James P. Arnold
R.W. Bro. John E. Cooper1996-97V.W. Bro. Lloyd Churchill
R.W. Bro. Glenn H. Gilpin1997-98V.W. Bro. John Halifax
R.W. Bro. Bronno Niemeyer1998-99V.W. Bro. Duncan Coutts
R.W. Bro. Douglas A. Conway1999-00V.W. Bro. Sidney J. Woods
R.W. Bro. Timothy J. Sheridan2000-01V.W. Bro. W. Dale Hunter
R.W. Bro. James G. Ospreay2001-02V.W. Bro. Lewis Allan
R.W. Bro. James R. Lee2002-03V.W. Bro. Stephen Read
R.W. Bro. John A. Milne2003-04V.W. Bro. Jack Wilson
R.W. Bro. Stephen F. Bishop2004-05V.W. Bro. Robert Beatty
R.W. Bro. Paul J. Gower2005-06V.W. Bro. Dennis C. Daigle
R.W. Bro. William W.W. McCulloch2006-07V.W. Bro. C. Forbes Neale
R.W. Bro. Harry Welsh2007-08V.W. Bro. Gerald W. Anderson
R.W. Bro. James R. Terry2008-09V.W. Bro. John Boynton
R.W. Bro. John H. Imrie2009-10V.W. Bro. David Hunter
R.W. Bro. Douglas W. Hammill2010-11V.W. Bro. Jerrold F. Sampson
R.W. Bro. John McKillip2011-12V.W. Bro. William Walter
R.W. Bro. Douglas R. Fleet2012-13V.W. Bro. Karl Haza
R.W. Bro. Michael J. Long2013-14V.W. Bro. Elmer Spring
R.W. Bro. Kennard W.R. Pratt2014-15V.W. Bro. William L. Thomas
R.W. Bro. David J. Boyd2015-16V.W. Bro. Rory MacDonald
R.W. Bro. Phillip J. Laundry2016-17V.W. Bro. Phillip M. Laundry
R.W. Bro. Douglas R. Tomlinson2017-18V.W. Bro. Scott Moorehouse
R.W. Bro. T. David Cuthbertson2018-19V.W. Bro. Ronald W. Greer
R.W. Bro. Jeffery L. Johnson2019-20V.W. Bro. Terry Anderson
R.W. Bro. Jeffery L. Johnson2020-21V.W. Bro. Terry Anderson
R.W. Bro. J. Scott Rowe2021-22V.W. Bro. Joe Malek
R.W. Bro. Terry P. Villeneuve2022-23V.W. Bro. Tye Hunt
† indicates deceased